General Bugs

User avatar
TheEbonPlague
Bug Finding Maestro
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:55 pm

Re: General Bugs

Post by TheEbonPlague » Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:10 pm

→ stop
You stop cleaning wounds.

<You are currently in moderate pain and have no blood loss.>
<Stamina: 140/140 | Exertion: Heavy | You are standing here>


→ rest
You lie down.

<You are currently in moderate pain and have no blood loss.>
<Stamina: 140/140 | Exertion: Heavy | You are lying here>


→ cleanwounds
You begin cleaning your wounds.
.....

lots and lots of spam...........


→ stand
You need at least 2 working legs to take that position.
Seems that it's the resting to clean wounds that is causing the issue




Edit: I'm dumb, GL char's spawn with broken legs it seems

User avatar
Japheth
Site Admin
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:51 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Japheth » Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:02 am

TheEbonPlague wrote:
→ stop
You stop cleaning wounds.

<You are currently in moderate pain and have no blood loss.>
<Stamina: 140/140 | Exertion: Heavy | You are standing here>


→ rest
You lie down.

<You are currently in moderate pain and have no blood loss.>
<Stamina: 140/140 | Exertion: Heavy | You are lying here>


→ cleanwounds
You begin cleaning your wounds.
.....

lots and lots of spam...........


→ stand
You need at least 2 working legs to take that position.
Seems that it's the resting to clean wounds that is causing the issue




Edit: I'm dumb, GL char's spawn with broken legs it seems
Spawning in with broken limbs was my fault actually, fixed in latest version. What had actually happened was that there is a certain point at which body prototypes work out what limbs they have, and when I added in the "Smash" command the body was trying to figure out a default bodypart to use for smashing if I hadn't set one (and it looked for a bodypart that connected an arm and a torso, figuring it was probably a shoulder). This was happening before the body had loaded its limbs and so the body kinda got stuck thinking it hadn't loaded them, and so then people would login, try to stand and it would go "You have 0 legs, so you can't stand".

Anyway fixed now.

SomeKnob
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 6:42 pm

Re: General Bugs

Post by SomeKnob » Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:34 pm

If you take a merit then change them later, the ones you previously took will not be available.

As an example:

Merit Selection

1: Ambidextrous 2: Bilingual 3: Brickfisted
4: Child Of Glass And Iron 5: Clever Hands 6: Cosmic Karma
7: Eye For Detail 8: Friend Of Beasts 9: Infection Resistant
10: Iron Liver 11: Lone Wolf 12: Long Distance Runner
13: Master Of Disguise 14: More Intelligent Than You Look 15: Morning Person
16: Muscle Memory 17: Night Owl 18: Second Wind
19: Sprinter 20: Strength In Numbers 21: Stronger Than You'd Think
22: Stubborn 23: Survivor 24: Teacher's Pet
25: Tidy Surgeon 26: Tougher Than You Know 27: Tunnel Rat
28: Vivid Dreams 29: Will To Live

I only have 29 of the 31 merits available to choose. Before changing merits from the menu, I had deja-vu and attractiveness and now these options aren't available. You can get around this by picking no merits/flaws (or ones you're not going to use) and then rechoosing a third time will have every option available, but just an fyi if you weren't already aware.

User avatar
Onasaki
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 7:10 am
Location: Somewhere.

Re: General Bugs

Post by Onasaki » Sun Mar 26, 2017 11:57 pm

It seems there's no choice for being clean-shaven, we must all have beards or facial hair. I am pleased by this, however, some people may wish to be heretical, beardless heathens with no sense of what it means to TRULY be blessed by thine beard. FOR IT IS A PRIVILEGE.

Seriously, though, seems silly that you can't be clean shaven. (Though considering the circumstances of the MUD's theme, I kinda see why.)


It also seems that "Back" only works up until you put in your name, surname, age, and such. From there you need to wait until you hit the end before you can go back and make changes.
I have two forces by my side,
One's the truth and One's a lie
Which one's which I cannot tell
This Enigma is my Hell

User avatar
Krelm
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:43 pm

Re: General Bugs

Post by Krelm » Mon Mar 27, 2017 1:53 am

There is a choice for clean shaven. When picking features you can type 'random' and it'll show you a new list of features.

User avatar
Onasaki
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 7:10 am
Location: Somewhere.

Re: General Bugs

Post by Onasaki » Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:32 am

Ohhh. Sheeet. I didn't realize that! Thanks Krelm!
I have two forces by my side,
One's the truth and One's a lie
Which one's which I cannot tell
This Enigma is my Hell

User avatar
Japheth
Site Admin
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:51 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Japheth » Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:47 am

I think I will make it so the "Default" choices for characteristics (being clean shaved for example) is always on the list even when you random.

Tepes
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 12:27 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Tepes » Thu Mar 30, 2017 4:02 am

I crashed the game using ally command.

Code: Select all

dub afro Japh
You dub a lean, afro-haired man "Japh".

<You are currently in no pain and have no blood loss.>
<Stamina: 170/170 | Exertion: Low | You are standing here>

ally japh
a lean, afro-haired man is now an ally.

<You are currently in no pain and have no blood loss.>
<Stamina: 170/170 | Exertion: Low | You are standing here>

ally
Use this command to mark someone as an ally. Syntax is ally <target> [TRUSTED]. See also the UNALLY command.

<You are currently in no pain and have no blood loss.>
<Stamina: 170/170 | Exertion: Low | You are standing here>

allies
+------+-------------------------+----------+
| Dub  | Last Description        | Trusted? |
+------+-------------------------+----------+
| Japh | a lean, afro-haired man | No       |
+------+-------------------------+----------+


<You are currently in no pain and have no blood loss.>
<Stamina: 170/170 | Exertion: Low | You are standing here>

ally japh trusted

-disconnected-

User avatar
Japheth
Site Admin
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:51 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Japheth » Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:29 pm

As a general tip, if you post your logs in [ code ] tags in the post, it is actually fixed width text (like most MUDs) and looks nicer, also usually makes it clearer which part is the actual log.

The allies crash is something stupid, an easy fix (fixes will go in this weekend).

Kodiak
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:26 pm

Re: General Bugs

Post by Kodiak » Sat Apr 01, 2017 5:18 pm

Odd bug I've noticed both in character generation and in the guest lounge.

I am using the Mudlet client (for Macs), and after about ten seconds the game automatically begins feeding blank lines into the client, scrolling down. The only way to stop it seems to be entering a command or a blank line, and it repeats again after a few moments of inactivity.

I've used this same client for other MUDs, and haven't had this issue. Has anyone else experienced this?

Normal:

Code: Select all

<You are currently in mild pain and have very minor blood loss.>
<Stamina: 137/140 | Exertion: Normal | You are standing here>

The fresh corpse of a very tall, strong brute bleeds from a wound on his neck
and a few wounds underneath a pearl white, cotton jumpsuit (blood drenched) and
a pair of steel-capped, pearl white shoes (blood damp).


<You are currently in mild pain and have very minor blood loss.>
<Stamina: 140/140 | Exertion: Normal | You are standing here>
Bugged Scrolling:

Code: Select all

<You are currently in mild pain and have very minor blood loss.>
<Stamina: 140/140 | Exertion: Low | You are standing here>














The fresh corpse of a very tall, strong brute bleeds from a wound on his neck
and a couple of wounds underneath a pearl white, cotton jumpsuit (blood
drenched).


<You are currently in mild pain and have very minor blood loss.>
<Stamina: 140/140 | Exertion: Low | You are standing here>






User avatar
Krelm
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:43 pm

Re: General Bugs

Post by Krelm » Sat Apr 01, 2017 10:04 pm

Someone else mentioned having that same bug with mudlet, but said that it stopped happening when they started using a different client. I think it has something to do with unicode, but I suppose Japheth would know more.

User avatar
Japheth
Site Admin
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:51 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Japheth » Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:57 am

It probably has to do with linefeeds and carriage returns actually, if it's a Mac specific thing. I might have to do some research on it and see what I can do, as I don't have a mac I can't reproduce locally.

Kodiak
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:26 pm

Re: General Bugs

Post by Kodiak » Sun Apr 02, 2017 3:40 pm

Thanks for the feedback - let me know if there is anything you'd like me to try out that might help to pinpoint the culprit.

Kodiak
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:26 pm

Re: General Bugs

Post by Kodiak » Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:03 pm

Believe the command 'Get Bill Bag' (in the starting room) crashed the game a moment ago - 'get bill from bag' does not seem to work.

Tepes
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 12:27 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Tepes » Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:55 pm

Not sure what changed, but I selected left handedness in chargen and it made me right handed after I got in game.

Tepes
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 12:27 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Tepes » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:13 pm

It also appears someone dying in the guest lounge is crashing the game. I don't have a log but I know that's what happened the last 2 crashes from a GL player.

Kodiak
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:26 pm

Re: General Bugs

Post by Kodiak » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:30 pm

Japheth wrote:
Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:57 am
It probably has to do with linefeeds and carriage returns actually, if it's a Mac specific thing. I might have to do some research on it and see what I can do, as I don't have a mac I can't reproduce locally.
FYI - switched over to Atlantis (another mac MUD client), and this issue does not appear to have followed me over.

Tepes
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 12:27 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Tepes » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:35 pm

I have no idea wtf happens here, but it happens when people speak.

Code: Select all

An obese, bald guy with rich brown eyes chuckles to a dark brown-skinned brute with black coarse stubble, nodding. <send href='look' hint='Language: English, Accent: with an American

User avatar
Wolfsong
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 11:00 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Wolfsong » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:48 pm

Do you have mxp enabled on a client that cannot support it?

Tepes
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 12:27 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Tepes » Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:03 pm

Wolfsong wrote:
Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:48 pm
Do you have mxp enabled on a client that cannot support it?
Me? No.

User avatar
Japheth
Site Admin
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:51 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Japheth » Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:34 pm

Tepes wrote:
Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:35 pm
I have no idea wtf happens here, but it happens when people speak.

Code: Select all

An obese, bald guy with rich brown eyes chuckles to a dark brown-skinned brute with black coarse stubble, nodding. <send href='look' hint='Language: English, Accent: with an American
[/quote]

That's MXP, generally the MXP negotiation should be invisible and it should only turn on if your client says it supports it. Can I get some more info about what client you're using?

Tepes
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 12:27 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Tepes » Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:57 pm

Japheth wrote:
Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:34 pm
Tepes wrote:
Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:35 pm
I have no idea wtf happens here, but it happens when people speak.

Code: Select all

An obese, bald guy with rich brown eyes chuckles to a dark brown-skinned brute with black coarse stubble, nodding. <send href='look' hint='Language: English, Accent: with an American
[/quote]

That's MXP, generally the MXP negotiation should be invisible and it should only turn on if your client says it supports it. Can I get some more info about what client you're using?
[/quote]
I'm using zmud 7.04.

User avatar
Onasaki
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 7:10 am
Location: Somewhere.

Re: General Bugs

Post by Onasaki » Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:43 pm

Trying to pull out X number of coins/bills from the vending machine crashes the game.
There is no way to separate coins from bills, as separate entities to pay someone back, for accidental usage.
I have two forces by my side,
One's the truth and One's a lie
Which one's which I cannot tell
This Enigma is my Hell

User avatar
Japheth
Site Admin
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:51 am

Re: General Bugs

Post by Japheth » Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:35 pm

Onasaki wrote:
Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:43 pm
Trying to pull out X number of coins/bills from the vending machine crashes the game.
There is no way to separate coins from bills, as separate entities to pay someone back, for accidental usage.
I'll investigate the former. On the latter though, it's worth noting that most of the item manipulation commands (get/drop/put/give etc) can be used with an amount of currency instead.

For example:

give "7 hours 3 minutes" tall.brute
insert "3 days" vending
etc

User avatar
Onasaki
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 7:10 am
Location: Somewhere.

Re: General Bugs

Post by Onasaki » Mon Apr 03, 2017 12:01 am

Ah, so you have to use hours/days specifically, not coin/bills?
I have two forces by my side,
One's the truth and One's a lie
Which one's which I cannot tell
This Enigma is my Hell

Locked